On August 18, 1945, for the first time the President and Vice President were elected by PPKI. In the early days of the administration, the power of the President in running the government was not only based on Articles 4.5,10,11,12,13,14 and 15 of the 1945 Constitution, but also based on Article IV of the Transitional Rules which read "Before the MPR, DPR and DPA were formed all power run by the President with the help of a National Committee. Based on the provisions of the provisions of Article IV, the President has enormous power. So that the President can legitimately act as a dictator, because the presence of the Central National Committee which has a role in assisting the President's task cannot at all be interpreted as a reduction in the power of the President. The history of the Republic of Indonesia has proven that the 1945 Constitution has undergone a very rapid development and within two months of the 1945 Constitution there has been a change in the state administration practices of the Republic of Indonesia, after the issuance of the Decree of the Vice President Number X dated October 16, 1945.

From the description above, actually it has not carried out the articles of the 1945 Constitution, because the article used is precisely the article of the Transitional Rules. For example, the President and Vice President according to the 1945 Constitution should be elected by the MPR in accordance with Article 6 paragraph (2), but chosen by PPKI according to Article III of the Transitional Rules. This is certainly understandable, because this is the first time in delivering a country. President Soekarno's power with democracy was dreamed up not to uphold the values of popular sovereignty, but what was upheld was the power of the leader and even very tragically Sukarno was appointed as President for life through the MPRS decree and this included the violation of the 1945 Constitution. the political stage replacing Soekarno's violation of the 1945 Constitution was repeated, because the 1945 Constitution could not be formed by anyone.


Presidential power, constitution and politics.

Full Text:



Abraham Amos, H.F.2007. Sistim Ketatanegaraan Indonesia, PT. Rajagrafindo Persada. Jakarta.

Ghoffar,Abdul. 2009. Perbandingan Kekuasaan Presiden Indonesia setelah Perubahan UUD 1945 dengan Delapan Negara Maju. Kencana Prenada Media Group. Jakarta

Asshiddiqie, Jimly. 2004 . Format Kelembagaan Negara dan Pergeseran Kekuasaan Dalam UUD 1945. FH. UII Pres. Yogyakarta

Mahfud, MD., Moh. 2007. Dasar dan Struktur Ketatanegaraan Indonesia. Rineka Cipta. Jakarta

Mahendra, Yusril Ihza. 2007. Sistim Ketatanegaraan Pasca Amandemen UUD 1945. Makalah 22 Maret 2007.

Manan, Bagir ,2003. Lembaga Kepresidenen. FH. UII Press. Yogyakarta

Manan Bagir. 2004 . Perkembangan UUD 1945, FH. UII Press. Yogyakarta

Maschab, Mashuri. 1983 . Kekuasaan Ekskutif di Indonesia. PT Bina Aksara. Jakarta

Huda, Ni’matul . 2003. Politik Ketatanegaraan Indonesia; Kajian terhadap Dinamika Perubahan UUD 1945. UII Press. Yogyakarta

Huda, Ni’matul . 2007. Lembaga Negara Dalam Masa Transisi Demokrasi. UUI Pres. Yogyakarta

Sitepu, P. Anthonius. 2012. Studi Ilmu Politik. Yogyakarta: Graha Ilmu.

Sitepu, P. Anthonius. 2012. Teori-Teori Politik. Yogyakarta: Graha Ilmu.

Suharto, Susilo. 2006. Kekuasaan Presiden Republik Indonesia dalam Periode Berlakunya Undang-Undang Dasar 1945. Graha Ilmu. Yogyakarta

Syafiie, Inu Kencana. 2009. Pengantar Ilmu Politik. Pustaka Reka Cipta. Bandung

Surbakti, Ramlan. 1998. Reformasi Kekuasaan Presiden. : PT Grasindo. Jakarta

Valina Singka Subekti, 2008. Menyusun Konstitusi Transisi, Pergolakan Kepentingan dan Pemikiran dalam Proses Perubahan UUD 1945. PT Rajagrafindo Persada. Jkarta 2008.



  • There are currently no refbacks.

Copyright (c) 2018 GANEC SWARA

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.










Ganec Swara

Published by UNMAS Denpasar K. Mataram |
Email: ganecswara@gmail com;

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.